A New City, A New Adventure

So, after my first assignment ended, I was able to go back home for a week. It was the first time I’ve seen my family and my adorable niece and nephews since October! That week went by way too fast but a lot happened in those 7 days as well. I have a new niece now – Savannah Nicole. I got to see pretty much all of my family and most of my really good friends. I got to love on my nieces and nephews and hear their sweet laughter and giggles and feel the best hugs that they give. 

I’ve missed them so much I can hardly stand it and it nearly broke me having to say goodbye again – knowing it was going to be 6 months before I see them again. In those 6 months, I’ll miss birthdays and Mother’s Day and Father’s Day. I’ll miss soccer games and baseball games and wrestling matches. It really is almost too much for me to handle but then I remember why I do what I do. 

I rememeber that travel has been a dream of mine for longer than I can remember. I remember that I’m showing my nieces and nephews that you can conquer your dreams and do so much more than you could ever imagine. I remember that I’m showing not only them, but also myself, that you’re not limited to where you were born and where you grew up. 

I remind myself that going outside of your comfort zone is one of the best things you can do for yourself…and your family. It makes you appreciate the time you have when you’re home. It helps you come up with special things that allows you to include your family in your new journey. It helps you evolve, grow and change in ways you never thought possible. It makes you want to reach farther and do so much more than you’ve ever thought before. And one of the most important things it helps you do is to face the obstacles that have previously stopped you – worry, anxiety, fear, self doubt. 

Is this journey perfect and without struggle? Absolutely not. The first 3 months were hard – especially December. The next few months will be hard too because I’m missing A LOT of things. It’s not easy to get home. I’m literally on the other side of the country. But I know, this journey is important and it’s necessary. This journey is helping me become a better person, daughter, sister, aunt, friend and so much more. 

I’ve officially been in the East Bay Area for a week now. This time, one week ago, I was moving into a new home with people I had only talked to on the phone once. I know, sounds crazy, and it’s something I’ve never done before and never thought I would do, but everything was fully checked out first by my recruiter. My gut was telling me it would work out ok and so far, thankfully, it has. 

Anyways, I’ve officially started my second assignment. Home Health. Something I’ve never done before but have been interested in for a while now. It’s really hard to get into HH without experience so this seemed like a no brainer. And the location is top notch. 

I’m really excited to be in this area. I love the Bay Area and have always considered San Francisco one of my favorite cities on the West Coast. Now, I get to spend 6 months exploring the area even more! 

There’s always so much to see and do – some of the best restaurants, events and outdoor adventures all within a very short distance. I seriously don’t even know where to start.

The last time I went to the city was 7-8 years ago so I know things have changed. I’m ready to start marking even more stuff off my wish list. 

If you have any fun suggestions for the Bay Area, please let me know. I want to see the touristy stuff but I also want to experience what makes this area so special too. I love getting to know some of the local spots that aren’t overrun with tourist. 

Until next time 

💚💚 
Check out this view from the backyard! Perfect overlook of the Bay, the Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz and so much more. 

Leave a Reply

