Yosemite Sam and Mickey Mouse too…part 2 

So, because California took so long to issue my PTA license, I was only on the west coast for about a week before I went on vacation. I know right, work for a week and then take a week off but I wasn’t missing a family vacation to the “Happiest Place on Earth” or the chance to see my momma, my sisters and the babies!

So, I started the day at 3:30 am to catch a 6:00 am flight out of Fresno with connections to LA and Miami. I was scheduled to land in Orlando at 6:30 that night – flying through time zones suck, especially when there are 3 of them! I got to the airport good and early to make it through security and figure out where I was going – I had never been to the Fresno airport so I didn’t want to risk being late or missing my flight. But, what do you know, my track record of flight delays started bright and early that morning.

For those of you who don’t know, flying with me is never good. There’s been maybe two trips in my lifetime that haven’t had a flight delay. Well, this particular morning, I had been at the airport maybe 10-15 mins before I got a notification on my phone showing an hour delay. My first thought was “Are you kidding me?! It’s the first flight of the morning, how can it already be delayed?” About 20-30 mins pass by and I get another notification – a 4 hour delay. My 6 AM flight now won’t leave until 11 AM.

At this point, my mind is in overdrive and because, once again, I’m flying through 3 time zones so I’m trying to figure out what time I would make it to Orlando. The whole reason I got an early AM flight was so I wouldn’t get in Orlando Thursday morning and miss a night with my family and now it’s happening anyways.

Thankfully, American Airlines was on it and before I completely started to panic. Within minutes and without me having to ask, they had me on a flight to Orlando with a connection in Dallas. I figured win-win for me: one less layover AND I would get to Orlando 2 hours earlier than my original flight! And then I saw my seat assignment😩😒👎

I’ve always been a window flyer – I like seeing where I’m at, it helps to calm me and for some reason, it helps my headaches while I’m on the plane. I’ve even been known to pay extra to have a window seat. But, that day, I was flying in the middle seat, across country, on two completely booked flights. IT WAS MISERABLE but at least I was headed to Orlando. I was so sore from being tensed up because of the middle seat assignment and not having room to move that it was literally hard for me to walk or sit down for a day after.

Finally, after 2 flights, 10 hours and a 3 time zone diffference – I made it to Orlando and was ready to see my family. My mom definitely went all out for this vacation and I couldn’t be more grateful. We had a suite at the Animal Kingdom’s Kidani Village and it was absolutely amazing. Our suite looked out to the savanna and we were able to see a lot of different animals right from our balcony. Giraffes, wildabeast, zebras are some of the few exotic animals that were roaming around.

First day, we spent pretty much the entire day at Magic Kingdom and then went to Animal Kingdom later that afternoon/night. I didn’t know what to expect because this was my first time at Disney World but we sure did make some memories. The first day was long! We woke up bright and early to have breakfast with LILO and Stitch and the rest of their friends.

Kenzie, Bentley and I with Mickey – Bentley was in a mood this morning and didn’t want his picture taken! But, this is proof that he was there😂😂

Kenzie and Bubs with Pluto – Bubs was having a good time with all of the different characters.

Me & Pluto – the cross country flight was showing all over my face, I was still exhausted

My beautiful momma with Pluto❤️

After breakfast, we headed to the first park of the day – Magic Kingdom!




Of course, pictures were a must as soon as we walked in. And then, it was time to hit the rides!

First one up was The Mad Hatter’s Tea Party.

Momma & Me in the teacup

Kasey, Kayla and Bubs

From there, we hit up the Seven Dwarfs – and that by far, was the longest ride we had to wait for but it was good and the kids really liked it.

Thank Goodness for FastPasses. We were able to ride a lot more than I was expecting without a lot of lines!

After we finished with Snow White, we caught a glimpse of Pooh’s residence. 😊 Ever since I was a baby, I’ve been in LOVE with Winnie the Pooh – my nursery was even decorated with Winnie the Pooh stuff! I felt like a little kid at that moment and wanted a picture with Winnie and Tigger so bad but both times that I was close to getting a picture, they left!! So, unfortunately, I never got my picture with them😩😩



One of the kids favorites was Dumbo – I have to admit, I liked it too!😀👍

Bradley & Gage

Momma & Bentley

Kasey & Kenzie

We caught the train across the park after this to take a ride on Splash Mountain – that was definitely one of my favorites except for when I was freaking out because I thought I lost my phone😒

On the way over to the other side of the park, I caught this sweet moment between Bentley and Kenzie. They are cousins but act more like sister and brother. They are really close to each other and are very protective of one other – I hope that last a lifetime!

❤️❤️❤️

Sometime throughout the day, we also rode Space Mountain and many other rides. Space Mountain got the best of me that day – I had a pretty bad headache before riding the ride but I wanted to know what everyone liked so much about Space Mountain. Every time you hear about Disney World, you always hear about Space Mountain. But, Space Mountain and headaches DO NOT MIX! I was in pretty bad shape for the rest of the day mixed with not eating enough and not having enough sleep. I know my mood and attitude wasn’t the best after that – I’m sorry momma!

Eventually, we went back to the hotel to rest up some and let the kids go to the pool. After a few hours, we decided to head to Animal Kingdom. There were two rides in particular that my momma wanted to do – the Kilimanjaro Safari and Everest.


The Tree of Life – pictures don’t do it justice!


The safari was pretty amazing with a lot of different wild life! There at the end it was getting dark and hard to get pictures but we were able to see lions, hippos, hyenas, Nile crocodiles, zebras, giraffes and so much more!!

Hippo mostly under water

Tons of Nile crocodiles

He was huge! They can run on land – I definitely wouldn’t want to be chased by him!

Hyenas

And the best of all – LIONS 🦁🦁

From what I could tell and what my momma said, she really enjoyed the safari and LOVED the Everest ride. FYI: my 7 year old niece, Kenzie, is absolutely fearless and is definitely an adrenaline junkie! She couldn’t get enough of Everest or Space Mountain and even rode them multiple times back to back.

The second day started off a little later and I was actually able to get some sleep the night before – something that was difficult because my body was getting use to being on eastern time after being on pacific time after being on central time (all within the matter of two weeks). I know, it’s confusing and my body thought so too!

First stop of the day was at Epcot!

Momma & Me (and the thousands of bags under my eyes 😩😒)

The guys and kids started the day off at the test track while Momma, Kasey, Kayla, Gage and I did some shopping. I got my pooh stuffed animal that I had been searching for and a special edition Vera Bradley zip ID for my keychain.

One of my favorite rides of the entire trip was at Epcot. It’s called Soarin’ and it’s absolutely amazing! It’s a 4D ride that has you flying around the world and you get to experience different places like Mount Everest, The Great Wall of China, Fiji, Grand Canyon, Australia and so on. Disclaimer: if you don’t like flying, you probably won’t like this one but it’s still an amazing experience to be had!

Here’s some pictures from our time at Epcot!

This one is blurry but we were sitting in a clamshell trying to find Nemo! 😂

After Epcot, we went back to the room to get some rest and get ready for one of the main reasons for the trip – The Not So Scary Mickey’s Halloween Party🎃🎃

Kenzie and Gage were LILO and Stitch and Bentley was Batman for the night.

We were able to stay in the park after hours and got to go trick or treating with the kids. There were character dance parties and parades and fireworks. And we didn’t have to wait in long lines for the rides!

Cinderella’s Castle ready for Halloween 

My sweet Bubba

Main Street

Halloween costumes for Gage and Kenzie

 

My bubs dancing and shaking his head trying to stay awake – this baby did GREAT during two long days at Disney. Much better than I was expecting:)

Some of the Halloween fireworks 💥 💥 – the different music and fireworks were set for a specific character/movie and changed each time. It was a pretty good show!

 

The next morning, it was time to fly back to California. It came way too fast and I knew that I didn’t know when I’d see my family again after I left. Unfortunately, I won’t be able to come home for the holidays or my birthday. I’m hoping a trip to Vegas will happen sometime while I’m out here though.

The flight back to California went surprisingly smooth – remember the 2 flights that I didn’t have a flight delay for. Well, this was one of those flights. No delays, no lost luggage and even got home before I was supposed to:) I had a connection in Chicago (I’ve never seen so much Cubs gear or as many fans – it was on the day of game 5 or 6 I believe) and LA. I was even upgraded to first class on my last flight and sat a seat away from Celebrity Chef Robert Irvine!

Overall, I think it was a pretty good family trip that would not have happened if it were not for my mom. I think memories were made for a lifetime and that’s something that can never be taken away.

❤️❤️

Leave a Reply

