A New Chapter, A New Journey

It’s been well over a year since I’ve posted anything. A lot of that has to do with the fact that I’ve been really busy with life, but also the fact that I’ve been spending some time trying to figure out what I want to do. The last time I posted, I was in the process of making a decision between accepting a new full time job with great benefits, connections, opportunities and accepting a position in the PTA program I was accepted to. Spoiler alert: for those who don’t know, I accepted a position in the PTA program.

At the time, I was very unsure of what I was supposed to do and what the best decision for me would be. I was coming off of a very challenging time at work and was questioning pretty much everything. So, I decided to go with the option that I had been working very hard towards for many years.

Now, a little over a year and a half later, I have completed a very selective, challenging program and have been practicing as a PTA. I accepted a position in a new city and met some people that I know will be in my life for a long time to come. I’ve worked very hard to be a part of the therapy profession, but after about a year, I realized I still wasn’t happy. Something was still missing and I needed to figure out what it was.

For the longest time, I’ve wanted to travel – go, see, do, experience all that this country and world has to offer. After a while, I knew that was the next chapter and the next journey that I needed to go on.

Once I made the decision to start traveling, I just had to decide where I would start. I originally decided on the East Coast, more specifically, Connecticut. I was licensed and ready to go and then, out of nowhere, life took a little turn and I was detoured for about 10 months.

When it finally came time to chase another dream, the state changed but the goal was the same. I was eventually licensed in the state of California – although, it took a WHOLE LOT longer than I was anticipating or expecting. But, during this time, I was reminded that the Lord does everything on his time and his time is never early and never late!

When the time came, my car was packed and my GPS was set for Fresno, CA. I said the most difficult goodbyes I’ve had to say, knowing that I probably wouldn’t see most of my family and some of my best friends for at least 3 months, if not longer. I shed way more tears than I would ever want to have to admit to and I had a lot more doubt and fear than I would’ve ever imagined. There was a split second moment, as I pulled out of my mom’s driveway, that I thought I wouldn’t be able to do it. But, before I knew it, I was on the road and headed towards my dreams.

Now, I’ve been in California for a week and I’m getting settled into a new routine, new work environment and new co-workers. Even through the doubt, fear and worry, I’m doing what I’ve set out to do. I’m excited for the opportunities and experiences that are yet to come. I’m even more excited that I’ve finally decided to do what I’ve been talking about for years.

I’m hoping to use this blog as a way to stay connected to my friends and family who I’m away from for the next few months, maybe longer. Here’s to a new journey and a new chapter  – I hope you follow along because I know I can’t do it without the love and support of my family and friends!

❤️❤️

Leave a Reply

