So long 2014…

It’s amazing how when a new year starts, you have such big hopes/dreams/ideas/etc. for what the new year will hold for you. But rarely do things happen the way that you imagine them.

The past few years have definitely tested me but have also shown me that I can handle more than I ever gave myself credit for. Even now, I still continue to doubt myself and worry over the most insignificant things. Unfortunately, that’s how my mind copes when things aren’t going my way.

2014 has been a crazy adventure – full of highs and lows. But with the grace of God and the amazing people I call my family and friends – I’ve made it through another year.

2014 pretty much revolved around school and work (as always) but hopefully, in 2015, that picture will change a little. I started the PTA program in May and really didn’t know what I was stepping into. But now, as I look back over the past few months, I don’t think I’ve laughed as much and as hard as I have since starting this program and Lord knows, I have shed a lot of tears too – tears of frustration, exhaustion and pure excitement.

I’ve also been blessed with a new group of people in my life who I consider some of the best friends a girl could have. I know, for a fact, that I couldn’t have made it through the past few months without them!

Over the next year, I’m looking forward to so many exciting things. Just a few days ago, I started my first of 3 terminal clinicals and so far, I’m loving it. I know that I’ve made the right decision career wise and I’m looking forward to the day where this is my permanent job – a job that I’m excited to wake up and go to. A job that doesn’t feel like an obligation. Of course, I’m also looking forward to graduation and all of the opportunities that come after.

I also hope that I learn to make time for more fun this year. One of my goals for this past year was to have more fun and try not to worry as much. With the help of my friends and family, I’ve made a lot of memories – full of fun and laughter. I pray that I can try and continue this; however, I STILL need to work on the worrying. I know it’s bad and I need to try to worry less – especially if there is nothing I can do to change whatever the situation is.

In 2015, I would also like to have the time to travel (for fun – not because I have to). There are so many places that I want to go to and experience – I don’t even know where to start. I’ve been blessed so far in my life to be able to travel some but there are still so many things that are once in a lifetime experiences that I hope I get to be a part of.

Just like most other people, there are definitely things that I want to work on as well. I want to be a better daughter, a better sister, a better aunt, a better godmother and a better friend to the people in my life. These relationships are the most important thing to me and unfortunately, most days, I don’t really show it.

Overall, I pray 2015 is a year full of more happiness and less sadness, more laughter and less tears, more joy and less sorrow, more praise and less complaints, more love and less anger. 

Here’s to the start of a new adventure!

AA

Leave a Reply

