25 years…

So. My 25th birthday is this coming Sunday, December 22. I know, I know…I can hear several people telling me now “that’s not old” or “just wait until you’re my age.” Well, let me just tell you, that doesn’t make me feel any better about turning 25. 

25 is one of those “milestone” birthdays. I remember when I turned 16, I was so excited because I was able to get my driver’s license and I could go where I wanted with my friends even if my parents had other things they had to do. I was excited when I turned 18 because that meant in just a few short months, I would be a freshmen in college and living on my own for the first time ever. I was definitely excited about turning 21…and we all know why. But 25. All I can think of as my birthday approaches is wow…it feels like I just turned 16 or 18 or even 21. It feels like I just started my undergrad career at Auburn.

25 definitely makes me feel old. I can now legally rent a car without paying the extra “under 25” fee. I will now be closer to turning 30 than being 20. It really is crazy for me think about. 25 always seemed to be one of those ages that wouldn’t happen for a “LONG” time but here it is…just 6 short days away.

But as my birthday gets closer and closer, it just reminds me how blessed I really am. I have an incredible family that loves me just as much as I love them. I know I can count on them when things get rough – that was proven to me over the past year when things just went from great to horrible in a matter of a phone call. I have an incredibly beautiful, smart niece and two silly, handsome nephews who I would give the world to if I could. Seeing them grow up is amazing and I’m blessed that they call me “Aunt Amber” or any variation of the such. I have a good job that I love going to (on most days) and I love (most of) the people I work with. I’m blessed to be able to buy the things I need (and want) and I have a roof over my head. Last but not least, I know I have God’s love and grace helping me through the good and bad times. I know nothing would be possible if it wasn’t for him. 

 

All in all, I know I am one blessed individual. Here’s to 25 years strong and 25 more! 

Leave a Reply

