Welcome to Philly!

Well…I have officially moved from Jersey to Philly!

I have to learn my way around this new city and I don’t really know what all it has to offer but I’m ready for the new experience. From what I’ve seen of the city so far, I know I’m going to love it. I already have a huge to-do list of things I want to see. I can’t wait to start exploring and marking things off of the list. 🙂

My dad and Cindy spent my first week in Philly with me. I was kind of worried before they got here because of potential work conflicts but everything worked out great and we were able to have a lot of fun together.

The first day they were here, we went into Downtown Philly. I had been to Philly once before but it rained the whole day and I wasn’t able to see much. During this trip, we were able to see the Liberty Bell (from the outside), Washington Square Park, Old Town Hall and other very historical sites. While at WSP,  we saw the Tomb of the Unknown Solider from the American War.

Image

It’s always fun learning about the history of the new cities that I will be living in. I was never a big fan of history in school but it’s completely different when you get to see it first hand. I’m ready to see more of what the city has to offer.

After our little trip to Downtown Philly, we decided to take a little trip to Delaware. Let me just say, Wilmington is kind of sketch. Especially in the middle of the night. I don’t know if I’ll be making it there again but at least I can say I’ve been to Delaware.

The next day, after working for several hours, we took a trip to New Hope, PA. New Hope is this cute little town on the Delaware RIver, on the border of NJ and PA. It has a lot of different shops and stores that you could spend hours looking at. It’s a nice place to go just to get away from everything.

My dad and Cindy just so happened to be in Philadelphia the week of July 4th. We decided to take a little trip to NYC for July 4th. Neither one of them had ever been and I’ll never pass up a trip to the city. I’m obsessed! I was actually surprised my dad agreed to go because up until this trip, all I’ve ever heard was “I’m not going.”

Image

We decided to take a tour of the city on one of the buses. I think that helped. My dad was able to see the city but didn’t have to deal with the crowds or traffic; that is, until we decided to go to the Hudson River and see the fireworks.

The fireworks were absolutely beautiful and the Empire State Building was red, white and blue in honor of the 4th. It was definitely a once in a lifetime experience. I never would’ve thought I would get to see the fireworks on the Hudson.

Image

All in all, it was a very good first week in Philly. Hope everyone had a great 4th of July!

Leave a Reply

