My Day Across the Hudson

I’ve been meaning to post for about a week now but work has finally picked up and I’ve been sick for the last few days as well. I just haven’t felt like it but I’m making myself post tonight.

It’s been an interesting few days. Work is work. Getting used to new doctors and a new hospital. It’s a lot, actually. I knew my doctors that I’ve worked with day in, day out for the last almost 2 years. I knew what they were going to do next and what they expected. That’s definitely not the case here. I’m getting used to it but I hate feeling like I don’t know how to do my job just because I don’t know how most of these doctors think. It’s something I’m definitely working on and having to get used to. Besides that, things at work have been really good. Moving fast but that’s how things go when you have deadlines and not enough time.

I still haven’t gotten to the city yet but I have done a little sightseeing in Jersey. I rode up to Jersey City and Hoboken last weekend. It’s about 20-25 minutes from my apartment and literally right across the Hudson River from NYC. I can’t believe I’m that close to the city and I still haven’t been yet!! That will be changing soon though.

Anyways, I did get to go to Hoboken which was one of the places I wanted to see while I was up here. For most people, you would know of Hoboken because of Cake Boss. I was able to ride by the bakery, Carlos’ Bakery, and it’s there just like its shown on the TV show. It’s so cute but apparently, I went at a very busy time. There was literally a line waiting to GET IN the bakery. I’ll definitely have to try it at a different time or try the one in Ridgefield.

Even though I didn’t go in the bakery, I did see a lot of Hoboken. It’s a cute little city with a perfect view of the NYC skyline. It’s definitely a place I could see myself spending a lot of time in. I loved it. I walked about a hour in downtown Hoboken and it was amazing. Cute little boutiques, nice views and even a few friendly smiles here and there.

After my time in Hoboken, I went to Jersey City and spent some time in Liberty Park. For those of you who have never been, you need to go! Liberty Park is one of those places you could spend hours at…having a picnic, walking around, taking a nap. All while having the BEST, MOST AMAZING view of the skyline, the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. It truly is breathtaking.

I had almost forgotten why I loved the city so much but after spending the day sightseeing from across the Hudson, I remembered. Even if you don’t like the noise and chaos of the city, you should see it from Liberty Park. The buildings, the history, the views…it’s something anyone and everyone can appreciate. I know it helped remind me why I loved it so much to begin with.

One piece of history about this area while I’m at it. Did you know that the Statue of Liberty is really located in New Jersey and not in New York? I know every time I think of the Statue of Liberty or New York, they go hand in hand. But the island is actually in Jersey water. I don’t think I knew that before my little excursion (if I did, I just don’t remember because like I said, they go hand in hand when I think about it.)

So, that’s pretty much what I did last weekend. I’m hoping I start to feel better soon because there is soooo many things on my to do list while I’m up here and I only have a mere 6 weeks to do it!!

I do know I want to go to a Yankees game…preferably when they play the Mets or the Red Socks. I’ll always be a Braves girl but the Yankees are a close second in my book! 🙂

I also want to get back into the city and spend some time there. I want to go to Atlantic City while I’m here and Boston, Philadelphia, Baltimore. I just don’t know where to begin or when ill have the time between actually doing my job but it will happen!!

Here’s some of the pictures I took of Hoboken and the skyline. Yes, I know, most of them are of the skyline but I just love it so much and from all of the different angles! It’s truly something special to look at in my mind!

Enjoy!

20130504-234508.jpg

20130504-234523.jpg

20130504-234534.jpg

20130504-234545.jpg

20130504-234559.jpg

20130504-234618.jpg

20130504-234638.jpg

Leave a Reply

