My Grand-Angels

 

Sometimes our grandmas and grandpas are like grand-angels. -Lexie Saige

 

This post is going to be a little different. It’s not about my new home and the journey I have started but rather one that I only had for a very short time. Much shorter than what I would’ve liked.

Before I went to bed this morning, I was looking at something on my phone and realized what day it was. April 26. This day is very special to me because it was my papaw’s birthday. He would have been 84 today.

Unlike some, I unfortunately don’t get to grow up with my grandparents around. I was young when my Papaw and Nanny passed away. Years later, I would lose the rest of my grandparents all within a year and a half.

Looking back, I know that I took having them around for granted. I didn’t think about calling them all the time just to tell them “I loved them.” I wouldn’t always be happy with the 2+ hour drive to go and see them. For some reason, something else was always more important or I would just be too busy. Oh, how I wish I could change that today.

However, I do know that I am very lucky and blessed to have the few years of memories that I do have. I know more than anything that my grandparents loved me and that they are all looking down on me now. 

I’ve been around people who put down their grandparents, disrespect them and wish they didn’t have to go and spend time with them. I wish they knew how lucky they were!

I would seriously give anything to be able to hug my grandparents and tell them “I love you”, just one more time. I wish I could hear how proud they were of the person that I am becoming and the things that I have accomplished so far. 

I know for a fact that my Nanny was screaming at the top of her lungs when I became a college graduate (even if it WAS from Auburn University). I know this because I know she loved me and she only wanted the best for me. She wanted me to succeed and have the best possible life I could. I know that’s what all of my grandparents wanted, I just wish they could’ve seen it happen. 

Growing up with your grandparents around is a blessing. If you still have yours with you, let them know how much you care about them and love them. Make the extra time to go and see them, no matter how long it takes you to get there. Call them just to say “I love you.” Those little things will be the things you remember the most. 

One of my favorite things to do now is watch my niece and nephews play with my parents. I smile when I hear them laugh because of something Papa John said or something that Nanny did. I think about the memories that they are making. I know that those will be some amazing memories for McKenzie, Bentley and Cole. I know this because some of my best memories are those that involve my grandparents. 

One day we will be back together as a family but until then, I know you all are watching over me. You see when I succeed and you know when I have to push a little harder. 

Happy Birthday Papaw! I love you more now than I did then. Keep watching over me with the rest of my grand-angels!

 

Love always,

Your granddaughter

 

 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

