A Little Closer to Normal

Well…today makes a week that I’ve been in NJ. It hasn’t been as bad as I thought it would be or anything like what others said it would be. So far, everyone has been really helpful and nice. I’ve even had several people tell me they like my accent and the fact that I’m always smiling (not always but I know how to make it seem like it 😉). It has been a very good experience so far. I’m learning new things and a new way of life;however, there are definitely some things that I’m having to get used to.

First of all, it is ILLEGAL to pump your own gas in the state of New Jersey. I didn’t really believe it before I moved up here but I went to get gas the other day and sure enough, a gas attendant came right to my car and asked me how he could help. It was really weird. I’m sure by the time I get used to the no pumping gas thing, I’ll be in a new state and forget that someone won’t be doing it for me.

There’s only two states in the country where you can’t pump your own gas and I just happened to move to one of them.

Another thing I have to get used to is the crazy way of making a left hand turn. Normally, when you see a light and need to turn left, you just turn. Nope, not here in the good state of New Jersey. For some left turns and u-turns (not all of them), you have to go to the right lane and go through like a cal-de-sac type thing so you can go straight across the road. Yea, if you don’t know to do that and don’t see the sign, you’ll probably get pulled over. Yep, speaking from experience here! I’ve been here a week and have gotten pulled over.

Thankfully, the cop was very nice and understanding about the fact that I was new in town, didn’t know where I was going and my GPS didn’t tell me the right way of making the turn. I only got a verbal warning! But, for now own, I will remember that to turn left…I first have to turn right (some If the time). 😒

Speaking of driving, some of these drivers up here are CRAZY! I just don’t understand. I’ve had a couple of mini anxiety attacks since I’ve been up here. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a defensive, sometimes crazy, impatient driver but these people have me beat. I just hope me and my precious little Mazda make it out in one piece.

Anyways, I’ve finally started to spend a lot of time at the hospital. We’ve been doing a lot of training and I’ve even meet a couple of the doctors. Again, so far, everyone has been really nice and helpful…not what you would always expect, especially in the state I’m in. I’ve been pleasantly surprised and I hope it continues.

It’s still so weird for me to walk into a different hospital and work with different doctors. I’m slowly but surely getting used to it.

I think I’m starting to like it up here. I’ve always liked the area and the city but it’s different living here. Unfortunately, I haven’t gotten to see much yet between a lack of time and some very serious incidents happening in some of the areas I want to visit. But I’m doing my research and finding things that are sort of off the normal tourist path. I’ve seen most of the typical tourist things in NYC, granted it was 10 years ago so I wouldn’t mind doing it again; however, I want to find some cute, interesting, original little finds.

If you have any suggestions or ideas, let me know!! I’ve only got 2.5 months to do all the things I want to do while I’m up here. After that, I don’t know where I’ll be.

Week One: DONE! I made it!

Now the real work begins…

Leave a Reply

