Home Sweet New Jersey?

The past 48 hours have been a whirlwind. If you asked me what I’ve done, I probably couldn’t tell you. Because I just don’t remember. I have a feeling this is going to be the story of my life for the next few months/years.

I do know that I’ve cried a lot over the past 48 hours. I cried when I said goodbye to my mom at the airport. I cried on the plane…several times. I cried when I landed in New Jersey and then again, when I talked to my dad that night. Leaving home was hard, leaving my family was even harder; however, I can already tell this new chapter is going to be a good one. Today, I didn’t shed a tear. I talked to both of my parents and even my 4 year old niece and I managed to hold it together. I would definitely call that progress.

The next thing I remember was landing in New Jersey. As hard as it was to leave my family and my home, I have to admit I did smile just a little when I saw the Statue of Liberty and the New York skyline when we were landing at the airport. For those of you who know me, you know that I LOVE the city. Probably even obsessed with it. I now live 20 minutes from the city!!! That makes this new journey worth it just a little bit more. Don’t get me wrong, I definitely miss my parents and the rest of the family…but being so close to NYC helps a little.

Lastly, as I landed, I heard about the bombings in Boston just a mere 4 hours away from where I currently live. Because of the bombings, NYC and the surrounding area has been put on high alert. Yes, this would be my first day up here.

It’s crazy how things have become in our would. What once was a simple, relaxing activity/hobby for some is now a source of sadness and loss. Even with all of the things that have happened over the past few years, it is still hard for my brain to wrap itself around such violence and hatred. I just can’t even imagine. The victims and their families are definitely in my prayers.

I started my first day of work today. I went to the new hospital and met with some of the staff. Everyone has been really nice and helpful so far (and I hope it stays that way!) This week should be a fairly calm week. I’m hoping to ride around and get to know the area just a little more over the next week. It really is a pretty little area. 🙂 Not too bad for my first site.

As I start to take pictures, I’ll upload them here so y’all can enjoy the sites as well.

That’s pretty much my last 48 hours…on the road, in the air and learning a new area. I’m still amazed that I’m even on this journey. God is definitely good!

Leave a Reply

